My Calender, 2023

And its time for my calendar 2023. Frankly, it was no better than 2021. A little worse I would say. I am glad, its over. I don’t know what is in store for me in 2024 though I am hopeful it shall be better than 2023. So let’s see just how bad it went through.

January

For the first time in so many years, I bought some stationary . I used to buy things almost every week, a few decades ago. But then I didn’t have a computer back then. Everything was on paper. I loved the feel of the paper and the smooth running of the ink on it. My brain storming helped me get ideas while the hours spent in the stationary and music shops in South Extension market, Delhi gave me immense happiness . I couldn’t wait to use my stuff once I returned from my shopping.

So this year for some weird reasons I went shopping some stationary for myself which had never happened for so long because I had switched to digital writing. However, since I had joined Akashwani I had to document my script with a paper and pen. So, yeah I went to the stationary store here in Raipur. I was in for a disappointment because this city is more of “babus”, as in government official’s city rather anything else and they have the habit of purchasing everything in bulk. So the retails were not up to the standard with what I was used to. And those that were, usually cratered to the needs of the students most of the time.

Anyways, I did find myself one which was a small shop but they allowed me a walk-through to checkout their stuff. Yes, I was pretty amazed since a lot have changed since I last bought any stationary. Some smarter kits had replaced the old ones. I got two organizers for myself – one for my writing work and one for my other obligations. I was so happy when I was making plans for the entire year. Never once it crossed my mind that time had other things in store for me.

However, January held both good and bad moments for me. We went out with family friends to Chilpi Ghati to enjoy the New Year eve. The first day of the year was a visit to ancient Shiv temple, Bhoramdev. So the start was fantastic. However, came across a bad news very shortly.

Later, our Bindiya department had our first Akashwani official get together. We came to the conclusion that we needed more of such good times together since we hardly got a chance to meet each other during work.

Also I had a fabulous outing with all my female friends the same month. The picnic was arranged by New Hope Society.     

February

BLANK MONTH

March

I had two special occasion this month at Akashwani. First, I had the opportunity to interact with our listeners on phone directly and second, my special program on Holi festival was scheduled for broadcast. As an RJ, getting to interact with the audience is always a very warm experience, especially when they recognize you through your voice. And I interacted with a very elderly lady who happened to be a regular listener of our Bindiya program on the radio.

We went on road trip to Varanasi.

The trip was planned by hubby so for a change, I took the back seat, relaxed and enjoyed every bit of the stay. From ferrying in the holy Ganges, to visiting the temples and banarasi saree factories we did it all and not to forget the mouth watering street food which is available even very late at night. We stayed there for two nights before moving to our next destination.

April

From Varanasi we went to Gaya, the Moksh Dham, enroute Bodh Gaya.

Stayed there for a night in Bharat Seva Ashram and performed the last rites of our ancestors in the ancient Vishnu Temple. From Gaya we went to Jhumri Taliya and stayed the night in a fabulous five star accommodation. It was a big surprise for all of us. Very budget oriented yet with all the five star amenities. We went to see Taliya Dam the following morning and after spending an hour set off for Raipur. Since it was late in the evening so we halted in Sundergarh, Odisha. Next day we set off again homewards. The road trip was very refreshing for all of us. I vowed to learn driving but haven’t till date .

May

BLANK MONTH

June

BLANK MONTH

July

Took admission in Kamladevi Music college in Loksangeet course.

I was invited in book launch organized by the literary club of Krishna Public School. It was a fantastic experience to interact with young authors.

Celebrated Hareli festival with Akashwani team mates.

Team Akashwani

I got an opportunity to make a special documentary program on Munshi Premchand for Akashwani on occasion of his Jayanti, “Kalam ke sipahi, Munshi Premchand”. 

August

On occasion of Friendship day, my Special program, “Dhai Akhar Prem ke,” was aired in Akaswani.

Friendship Day Program

Our small club, New Hope Society got an opportunity to celebrate Independence Day with the elders in one of city’s oldage home. We were also invited in Saawan event organized by Mahila Mandal Kurmi Samaj.

September

Blank Month

October

Went to enjoy Durga puja in Bangalore. It was a road trip till Nagpur and then we took flight. The road from Raipur to Nagpur was terrible and we were very concerned that we had to come down the same route on our way back on our return journey and that too at night time. My hubby was cursing me for not learning to drive.

November

BLANK Month

December

And my this year’s last program on Akashwani.

Once the summer set in my days just passed by without my knowledge. And before I knew the year was gone. I have lost many dear ones this year. May their soul rest at peace where ever they are. Even my health took a toll this year. Mishaps kept occurring. Maybe I need to take good care of myself now. Me first should be the attitude. Lots of this that I loved doing has taken a back seat this year. All my planning drowned in the drain. Not a very promising year for me. I Don’t know what to expect in 2024.

However, I wish you a fantastic 2024. May all your dreams come true and have a healthy and peaceful life. Thank you.

Leave a comment